The Texas Legislature recently changed the values required for theft offenses. Previously Clas A misdemeanor theft required the value of the property taken be between $500, but less than $1,500. Now the threshold has been increased to $750, but less than $2,500.
Under section 31.03 of the Texas Penal Code, the State must prove that:
The Property of another; and
With the Intent to deprive the owner of the property
The value of the property determines the severity of the offense.
If the property taken is valued between $750, but less than $2,500, the theft offense is a Class A Misdemeanor. Class A misdemeanor theft is punishable by up to one year in jail, a fine not to exceed $4,000 or both.
Theft cases can have a serious impact on a person’s future. Theft convictions can affect job opportunities. If you or a loved one need to talk to a lawyer about your theft case, I can help. Start by calling Brian J. Newman at 817-231-0023